EPFL, ETH Zürich and HSLU join Blockchain Competition

Until July 30, 2017, teams and startups from around the world can register for the Blockchain Competition in the so-called Crypto Valley. The competition has attracted applications from as far away as Japan and India. Now several Swiss universities joined as science and research partners.

The Blockchain Competition aims to attract the top ideas and applications of blockchain. The top prize is $100 000 (no strings attached) and the top three entries win free office space for an entire year.

The Competition is attracting more than just startups too. Several Swiss universities have also joined in the initiative. Lucerne University of Applied Sciences (HSLU), École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) and ETH Zurich as well as Zurich School of Management and Law (ZHAW), University of Applied Science in Business Administration (HWZ) and Germany’s University of Konstanz have all lent their support to the Blockchain Competition.

The Competition is the brainchild of two Zug-based firms - Lakeside Partners AG and inacta AG, both of whom are at the forefront of the push to establish Crypto Valley as a “go-to-place” for new companies in the blockchain space. Says Ralf Glabischnig, Managing Partner at inacta, “This area has always been good for business with favourable tax laws and minimal regulation, but with the Competition we think the Crypto Valley ecosystem will really take off, with talent, energy and innovation all in one place.”

In the life insurance company Pax, the main sponsor of this year’s edition, the Competition has an industry partner that shares this vision. “The future is in technology - for insurance as well. The Competition continues Switzerland’s long tradition of innovation and we firmly believe that innovation is good for everyone, most of all the customer,” adds Pax CEO Peter Kappeler.

Already the competition has attracted applications from as far away as Japan and India. The deadline for entries is 30 July with the final winner set to be announced in a special ceremony in Zug on 22 November.

(Press release)